Tuesday, December 18, 2012


The inevitable finally happened today when the debut album from Harlem’s own A$AP Rocky leaked just under a month before its expected release date. As someone who has been looking forward to this release pretty much since I downloaded, and overplayed, Live.Love.A$AP in late 2011 I couldn’t resist copping the download and
telling myself I would pick up the physical when it drops in January. And even after all the waiting and the hype around Rocky building to ridiculous levels, I was not disappointed.

From the go on the albums title track “Long Live A$AP” Rocky comes out swinging in true A$AP fashion with a slowed Ugh then jumping into the type of verse we have come to love from him, giving hope that “Dat PMF” didn’t switch his style up for his debut major release. The album then continues on into “Goldie” and “PMW(All
I need)” with Schoolboy Q, both tracks are dope but with the exception of the Schoolboy verse on PMW I had played them out in excess since they leaked long ago.

The Albums standout track is clearly “1 Train” which is a throwback to the 90’s and the day of the massive collabo track. “1 Train” features Kendrick Lamar, Joey Bada$$, Yelawolf, Danny Brown, Action Bronson and Big K.R.I.T, pretty much a collaboration of all your favorite rappers favorite up and coming rappers. Upon seeing this on the track list I was excited but also nervous that something like this would flop, but every MC brings his A game over the spooky Hit-Boy produced track.

Other stand-outs include Ghetto Symphony with Gunplay and A$AP Ferg, and “Fuckin’ Problems” with Drake, 2 Chainz and Kendrick Lamar. The Skrillex assisted “Wild for the Night” is also an interesting cross-over. But this album really shines as a full project worthy of multiple listens all the way through, not to be picked a part single by single on shuffle. Over all I think with this project Pretty Flacko is letting everybody know that he and the rest of the A$AP Mobb aren’t just a passing trend but are here to stay. Long Live A$AP!